Christian Scott wins the Edison for Best International Jazz Artist of 2010

1st November 2010

Today the Edison Foundation announced the winners of the 2010 Edison Jazz/World Awards. Christian Scott and Lionel Loueke have been chosen to receive an Edison. The Edison Awards will be presented on November 11th in the Muziekgebouw Frits Philips in Eindhoven.

The young trumpet player Christian Scott (New Orleans, 1983) won the Edison for Best International Jazz Artist of 2010. The jury was blown away by his latest album Yesterday You Said Tomorrow. “It sums up forty years of jazz history. His brilliant quintet plays with great inventiveness and musical greediness. Scott’s own sound, musical compositions and specific way of playing make this album one of the best releases of the past year.”

The Edison Music Awards
The Edison Award is the most prestigious Dutch Music Prize, presented since 1960. That makes the Edison the oldest European music award and after the Grammy’s the oldest in the world. There are Edison Awards for recordings in pop, classical, world and jazz music. This year the Edison celebrates her 50th anniversary!

The Edison is a prize awarded for quality in sound recording and is the equivalent of the U.S. Grammy Award, the Brit Award, the Grand Prix du Disque in France and the Deutscher Schallplattenpreis in Germany. Edisons are awarded in three categories: Classical, Jazz and Popular music. The award is a bronze replica of a statuette of Thomas Alva Edison, the man who invented the ‘talking machine’ in 1877, by the famous Dutch sculptor Pieter D’Hont.

Every year, the Edison Awards reward albums of outstanding quality, submitted by members of our trade organisation NVPI. Like the Grammy Awards, there are several categories in which albums can be nominated. A professional jury responsible for the nominations and winners.

Once a year the Edison foundation grants a Lifetime Achievement Award to a musician of great importance for the world of jazz/world music. Previous recipients were (a.o) Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter, Tony Bennett, George Duke, Joe Sample & Randy Crawford and Dianne Reeves. The recipient of this award is the central star in the Edison Jazz/World Gala that this year will take place in the Muziekcentrum Frits Philips in Eindhoven, on November 11th 2010.

Edison awards are given in the following categories:
• Jazz International
• World Music
• Extraordinary editions/publications
• Lifetime achievement award international

Related Releases

There are no releases for this artist yet.